What can external users do in IBM Connections?


There has been some discussion on what external users of IBM Connections can and can not do in the system. Some have said that IBM Connections have very limited functionalities for external users. Here are the facts.

You become an external userExternal user icon of IBM® Connections when:

  • Someone in an organization invites you to join an IBM Connections community and you accept the invitation.
  • Someone in an organization shares a file with you.

What external users can do

As an external user, you can perform the following tasks:

  • Collaborate fully as members in communities, for example you can follow communities
  • View and download files that are shared with you
  • Edit files in IBM Docs
  • Join meetings that you are invited to
  • See an activity stream to which you have access
  • Edit your profile by clicking your picture and selecting My Profile
  • View business cards of anyone that shares content with you
  • Share files with people

What external users cannot do

As an external user, you cannot see the following IBM Connections items or perform the following tasks:

  • Be a community owner
  • Be a member of a community group
  • Create a community
  • Follow people
  • See public microblogs
  • See public or moderated communities
  • See public files
  • See or search the company directory (including using type-ahead) to find people
  • See recommended content or people
  • Access the Profiles menu.
  • Access other user profiles
  • See community metrics

Identifying external users and what they can work with

If you are an external user, then content that you create or have access to is identified by an icon External user icon. The icon is applied to restricted communities that you are a member of, and files or content that is created by you or shared with you.

Read more about IBM Connections 5.0 here!

Source: IBM Knowledge Centre

Tagged with: